I’ve Got 3 Words For Ya: Buy Victory Road

OK, I know I completely buried our good friends over at Total Nonstop Action Wrestling the other day. One of my messages was to support the wrestlers, not the company. Today, you have that chance (although part of it technically involves supporting the company). Here’s how:

I am buying Victory Road. You should, too.

Now, it’s entirely possible that I’m just a huge mark for half the wrestlers on this show, but I am genuinely excited for this show. First, let’s take a look at the card:

This is a legitimately good wrestling show. I care about six of the nine matches on the show. That’s pretty damn good. And the main event isn’t one of the six!

Let’s start where I’m most excited: Ric Flair vs. Jay Lethal. This is a match that has been built over about a two month period with Lethal beating everybody in his path before Flair finally goes nuts and gets put in the match. This has been extremely well done. Have you seen their promo from Impact? If not, CLICK ON THIS LINK AND GET YOUR ASS TO YOUTUBE TO WATCH THIS SNIPPET. It RULED. I honestly don’t think anybody can tell me with a straight face that Ric Flair hasn’t ruled the Earth since coming to TNA. And Jay Lethal has been right there with him the last two months. I’m excited for the match because I think it’s going to have a lot of passion, and it’s going to be the biggest match of Lethal’s life. And each time Flair steps in the ring these days, it could be the last time. You just never know. And because he’s in the ring so infrequently, start savoring the flavor, kids.

Next up is a match that has been, in a way, an accessory to the Flair/Lethal match. This will pit AJ Styles and Kazarian against a mystery team and Styles and Kazarian must win to possibly get into Fortune. I don’t know who the mystery tag team will be (probably someone halfway decent, I hope) but I’m a huge AJ Styles mark and I’ve really liked the dynamic going between he and Kazarian.

Me having the TNA Tag Team Title match between MCMG and Beer Money as No. 3 on my list should tell you just how good this is. This is going to be so awesome if they are given time. These are the two best tag teams in the world today in my opinion.

And again, you know it’s good if KURT ANGLE is No. 4 on the list. His match with The Pope should be tremendous. When’s the last time Kurt Angle didn’t have a good match on PPV?

The X Division title match between Douglas Williams and Brian Kendrick should be good. I gotta tell you, though, having Williams be afraid of stepping onto the ladder because he’s afraid of heights is the DUMBEST thing. He better tremble the next time he goes to the top rope.

Finally, the sixth match I’m pumped for is the steel cage match between Matt Morgan and Hernandez. I don’t know why, but I like these two. I’m looking forward to seeing a legitimate violent steel cage match.

The other three matches I find completely unoffensive. That makes for a good show.

So please, buy this show and be entertained by what should be a tremendous show. The wrestlers will work their asses off and they deserve to be rewarded. And also because of Ric Flair and Jay Lethal, who have been in the best feud of the year so far in my opinion.

And if you haven’t seen Thursday’s Impact yet, find it and watch it. It was a very good wrestling show.